Hibernation

You may have noticed my posts have been less frequent of late. This is because my blog is in hibernation. On a sunny day it might get up for a bit, shuffle around and say something before relaxing back into its slumbers, but basically its hibernating.

Why? Because it’s winter, and that’s the right time to hibernate. But also because I have subsyndromal Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) and I just don’t function well in the winter.

Every winter it’s a struggle for me to find the energy just to keep doing the normal things like getting up and going to work. My brain and thinking slow down and mental challenges that I take in my stride at other times of the year become insurmountable. One year I was doing daily Sudoku puzzles and found that as autumn progressed towards winter I was struggling more and more with them until I had to drop a difficulty level to find an achievable puzzle.

Because everything is so much harder for me in the winter than at other times of the year I have to scale back what I expect of myself, which is always difficult to adjust to in the autumn when I have been active and motivated all summer.

I take the edge off it by using a light box and getting out into the sunlight whenever I can but I have to accept that the way I am in winter is different from how I am the rest of the time. At least I know now that it will pass; spring will return and I will feel alive again. But until then, goodnight.

2 thoughts on “Hibernation

  1. Jon says:

    This must be hard to deal with. Being open and writing what you have could really help others though. Thanks for doing such thoughtful posts.
    Take care,
    Jon.

  2. What an interesting post. I spent ten years in Seattle, where most of the year we lived under what my husband termed “the dome.” The horizon to horizon cloud cover. It really does affect you, and slow you down. I laughed out loud at your “had to drop a difficulty level” in Sudoko — you hit the nail on the head! Well, it’s March now, so hopefully your skies and your spirits will open up again soon. Good luck!

What do you think? Leave a Reply

