Horse riding

Public announcement:

I have started horse riding lessons!

Some of you will know that I have been wanting to do this for some time but for various reasons (most of them wedding-related) I didn’t start until a few weeks ago.

It is very exciting for me. I go to Middleton Equestrian Centre for my lessons, which is very handy as it is pretty much on my way home from work, although on the negative side that means I have to pass the turning on my way to work – I know where I’d rather be going 😦

I have now had three lessons on three different horses – “Little” Ted (18 hands), Oliver and Dennis. They’re all completely different, which is excellent and I’m glad to be experiencing different rides from the beginning. Considering my superstition that I can only drive my car in the kind of boots I passed my test in, I suspect it would be very easy for me to slip into the belief that I could only ride one horse if I had too many of my early lessons that one horse.

Although I wish I could go for lessons more often (the main but not only prohibition here is price) it’s probably good in a way that I can’t because otherwise I think it would be very easy for me to become suddenly very intense about this new hobby, as I have with others in the past, and a) lose all perspective on the rest of my life and b) burn out, forget to enjoy it and fail to remember that I’m supposed to be having fun.

So I’ll carry on with my weekly lessons and hope I continue to have as much fun as I have been so far. Watch out for more riding posts coming soon!

Image: Simon Howden / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

P.S. There may still be more in the postcards from honeymoon series of posts, or there may not be. Who knows what the future holds?

3 thoughts on “Horse riding

  1. libroediting says:

    Lovely to see you blogging again and great to see you continuing with the riding, too!

  2. Satu says:

    Hurrah for HORSIES!!

  3. Jon says:

    Does this mean you’ll be blogging ‘on the hoof’ ?! (Sorry). Nice to see the blog in action again, and the horse riding sounds great, well done. 🙂

What do you think? Leave a Reply

