1 year of Sparrowgrass

It’s now 1 year since I started this blog. While it’s true that the blog hibernated for a substantial portion of that year, I’m still interested in the anniversary.

I wonder how I’ve  changed over that year? The only big change I can see is that I’m married now, which also means I’m no longer planning a wedding. Wonderful!

I’m starting to suspect it’s possible that one day everything won’t be about the wedding or resultant changes of name, bank account, e-mail address, etc., but it still might take a while to get there.

Because of the spring wedding, the conservatory-full-of-vegetables is not full of vegetables this year. I just didn’t have time for the planting and didn’t want to have to ask anyone to come in and water them every day and hand-pollinate my courgettes* every morning while we were on honeymoon. So this year I’m only growing beetroot (because you can plant it in early summer, i.e. post-honeymoon). While I miss the mass of plants I would usually have it’s also really nice to have a conservatory that we can use for other things.

I wonder if I might be more mellow this year than last, but that’s a hard thing to measure. I think I might well be. I’ve done a lot of things in the last year that were outside my comfort zones and managed them very well so perhaps the result of that is a little enlargement of those comfort zones and a little more self-belief.

So is there anything else going on now for me that wasn’t going on a year ago? Yes of course there is! Now I have horse riding lessons! Hurray!

*This involves identifying the male flowers and the female flowers, picking the male flower and using it to inseminate the female – not really the sort of thing you want to explain to your future father-in-law! It really makes you realise how valuable bees are.

Image: digitalart / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

What do you think? Leave a Reply

