New Year, new challenges

As some of my readers will already know, my riding instructor (to whom I was quite attached) left the riding school a few days ago. This panicked me rather as I was fearful that some of the lessons I had learnt from him and through riding would be lost. Perhaps when he went I would forget how to relax and forget how to release my habitual death-grip of control on my life. In short, I feared that when he left I would revert to being the person I was nearly a year ago when I started riding lessons with him. Obviously this was not particularly rational. I am aware that I am the one who made all the positive changes in my life and he was only a catalyst.

Mostly he allowed me to change by providing an environment where everything felt safe, so even the most terrifying and unnatural act (i.e. relaxing) became OK to experiment with in my lessons with him. Gradually I began to try taking the lessons I learnt there outside of the riding school – to relax at my desk at work, for example, or in the supermarket. To try not to control the person I was supposed to be training, but to let them make their own mistakes. Still, as I tried out these new things in the wide world I knew that in my next riding lesson it would feel safe again, even if it felt scary in the real world. So when my instructor left, he was taking my mental safety net with him. When you take away the thing that was making it safe, you wonder if you have the courage to carry on. The scary stuff isn’t as scary as it once was but you had a comfort zone to retreat to and now that it’s gone you’re not sure that you can dare to get up on that trapeze without the safety net.

So the new challenge for the New Year is to fly without the safety net. To carry on being the new me without the weekly “safe place” to retreat to that I’d got used to.

Another concern was that when I lost my riding instructor that I might not find riding fun anymore. We had lots of fun and laughter in my lessons and I am not a person who naturally has fun easily, particularly not when trying to learn something difficult. However, this morning I had my first lesson with a new instructor and successfully achieved the goal of having fun. I also cantered a horse I’ve not cantered before and didn’t expect to be able to, which was great. The new teacher effect meant that I learnt lots of new ways of thinking about my riding which was also fun. I’m not sure yet if I’m going to stick with this instructor (I’m going to try out the other two instructors as well before I settle on one) but I certainly could be happy to carry on with him.

I didn’t feel ready for the training wheels to come off, but that’s in my character. Now I seem to be finding that I’m riding the bike without them. It looks like I can do it. I’m sure there will be wobbly moments and sometimes perhaps I’ll fall off the bike (and perhaps the horses too) but it seems like perhaps I was ready for this new step. Let’s take it up a gear!

*****

P.S. A most interesting comment from today’s riding instructor was that I’d relaxed my sitting trot too far. He seemed a little taken aback when I was delighted to hear that. Too relaxed??? Me??? WOW! Looks like the “new me” definitely didn’t leave with the old riding instructor.

Image: jscreationzs / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

One thought on “New Year, new challenges

  1. Liz at Libro says:

    SO glad this has gone well – I did hear about Original Instructor going but it sounds like you have a good attitude to it all and that things are going forward well. And well done on the cantering, too!

What do you think? Leave a Reply

