On bucket lists

I don’t have a bucket list. Other people’s bucket lists interest me but I usually read through them thinking that I don’t want to do any of that stuff and wondering why the list’s owner wants to. Maybe they don’t actually want to do all those things but they put them on because they feel their list should be longer.

It occurred to me that perhaps I haven’t liked people’s bucket lists because they tend to be filled with out-of-the-comfort zone activities and I’m traditionally resistant to that sort of thing. So I wondered if maybe having a bucket list would be good for me.

And then I tried to write one:

  • Learn to ride a horse
  • Learn to jump (using) a horse (N.B. I don’t feel the need to jump over a horse. That would be difficult, pointless and unsettling for the horse.)
  • Go to China
  • Eat at Simpsons restaurant

And that’s as far as I got. Not exactly the 101 things other people manage to churn out but they’re not me.

But then I realised the big point that isn’t on my little bucket list is:

  • Learn to live

And that kind of encompasses everything really. I don’t need a bucket list because if I work on that point, the other stuff will just follow along. Maybe in the future I’ll have a long bucket list, but I sort of hope I won’t, because if you’re doing the things you want to do there’s no need to write them on a list.

Image: Rawich / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

What do you think? Leave a Reply

