In which the internet is not hopeful about happiness

The internet is a wonderful repository of stuff. Useful stuff, useless stuff, data in all its varied forms. But I don’t think of it as a sentient being. That is, I didn’t until the internet just tried to send me a message…

I was reading a blog that mentioned Gross National Happiness and thought I’d like to find out a bit more about the concept. So I clicked on a link … and waited …

Eventually the internet informed me, “This file is damaged and could not be repaired.”

Oh no! National Happiness is broken and cannot be fixed by the internet, despite its massive data resources! This is terrible! If the internet says it can’t be fixed, happiness must be really broken!

But then I wrote this up and while I was typing I thought:

perhaps the internet can’t fix it … perhaps people expect the internet to fix everything, but maybe happiness problems can only be fixed by humans … and horses … and puppies … and cats …

Folks, I think the solution lies outside the internet! We can fix National Happiness!

 

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

What do you think? Leave a Reply

