Liebster Award

liebster

As you may have noticed, Drifter and I have been quite busy of late 😉 While I’ve been posting about all the exciting things we’ve done in the last few weeks, I’ve not had time to post about much else and during that time I have been given the Liebster Award not once but three times! I am so very very flattered, thank you so much The Casual Rider, girlonahorse and ikescentrelineadventures.

HOW TO ACCEPT THE AWARD:

The Liebster Blog Award is a way to recognize blogs who have less than 200 followers.  Liebster is a German word that means beloved and valued.  Here are the rules for accepting the award:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and include a link back to their blog.
  2. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
  4. Create 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate.
  5. Choose 11 bloggers with 200 or less followers to nominate and include links to their blogs.
  6. Go to each bloggers page and let them know you have nominated them.”

11 random facts about me:

  1. I don’t like learning languages, but if I was told I had to, the 3 I’d like to understand would be Japanese, Welsh and Chinese.
  2. I have a bottle of bubble blowing liquid on my desk at work
  3. I don’t know why so many people struggle with office photocopiers – why do they find it so hard just to get their copies done? Or to fill up the paper tray?
  4. I like to be in bed by 10. If I’m still up later than that, don’t expect much from me!
  5. I’ve never driven an automatic, but I need to learn soon (Mr S’s new car is very shiny, but how do you make it go?)
  6. I am a part of a demographic that owns a horse and regularly plays board, boxed and video games. That must be a fairly narrow wedge of society.
  7. I like structure. And where there is a structure things should be within it, obedient to the rules.
  8. I like “stuff”. Minimalism is my nemesis. My living spaces should have stuff in them.
  9. I like words a lot more than numbers. But I expect that’s true of most bloggers, or we’d spend our time doing things with numbers rather than putting more words on the internet.
  10. I like trying sweets from other cultures. They think of things we wouldn’t. Like corn flavoured WhiteRabbits.
  11. I used to think I ate like a horse. Until I got a horse…

11 questions from The Casual Rider

  1. Do you speak a foreign language? I can sort of get by in spoken French and Italian although my reading is a great deal better than my speaking because I do practice reading and I don’t practice speaking (or writing for that matter). I also have a little Latin, which isn’t big as a spoken language these days. I also have a fondness for reading Chaucer’s Middle English but again, I don’t speak it because it’s not much use as a spoken language!
  2. Have you adopted any stray or rescue animals? Our cats, Nutmeg & Juniper, came from a 1-woman cat rescue centre. Her entire home was full of rescue cats, most of which are up for rehoming. She had cages of feral cats in the kitchen, a sea of litter trays in the garage and cats on every visible surface. I have never seen so many cats in one place before. Ours had been rejected by their previous owner because at 6 months old they were now starting to be cats not kittens.
  3. Any arts/crafts you do? I have a weakness for crafts and dabble in many, including jewellery making, braiding, card making, stamping, origami and calligraphy. However, I do find I have considerably less craft time since getting a horse!
  4. Favourite junk food? Pizza. No, chips. No, cake. No, pizza.
  5. Introvert or extrovert? Introvert.
  6. Last movie seen, or watched at home? I think it was Les Misérables. We’re hoping to see the new Star Trek film soon, perhaps this weekend.
  7. Book you are currently reading? I don’t usually have more than one book on the go, but at the moment I’m reading The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant / Stephen R. Donaldson (I don’t recommend it), Blue Mars / Kim Stanley Robinson, and  The Other Queen / Philippa Gregory. I tend to start another book when I find the one I’m reading doesn’t suit my mood or energy level.
  8. Why do you blog? To share my opinions, to document my journey (life), to document my journey (horse owning), to work through my thoughts by writing them in a way that might be comprehended by others, to be a part of  a community.
  9. How many countries have you lived in? Just the UK.
  10. What do you like most about blogging? The friends I’ve made as a result.
  11. Do you read blogs on subjects different than your primary blog subject? Yes, I do, although I find that most of the ones I’ve discovered recently are horsey. When I followed fewer blogs I used to spend more time looking at Freshly pressed, so I saw a wide variety of topics. These days I mostly find new blogs through the recommendation of other horse bloggers, so they tend to be horses related.

11 questions from Soapy Photo Girl (formerly girlonahorse)

  1. What is your favourite thing about horses? Maybe their soft noses or how calm they are when they’re calm. (OK not the most expressive sentence, but they’re not calm at all times!)
  2. How old were you when you had your first riding experience and what do you remember most clearly? I’m not sure. I think I remember a school fete pony-ride – about 20 m of lead-rein walking, but I can’t really remember much. What I think of really as my first riding experience was my friend’s hen party. I was probably about 27. It was still on a lead-rein but on a horse not a pony and we got taught how to hold the reins, steer and well, begin to learn to ride. It was at that point I thought “I could have lessons now. I could learn to ride.” It was still a few years I think before I had my first proper lesson, but that was the key moment for me.
  3. Do you feel that your riding endeavours are building up to a pursuit of any particular discipline and if so what? I don’t know really. I think my character is probably most suited to dressage. I have a suspicion my horse may prefer jumping. My goals at the moment are to work to a point where I could consider learning to jump on him and take it from there. At the moment we need to get canter working well and canter steering under control before we could think about cantering towards anything 🙂
  4. Do you currently have any pets at home? The two cats mentioned in no. 2 above.
  5. Do you practice any other sporting activities in your leisure time? Not at the moment. Riding is taking all available time and energy at present.
  6. What kind of music do you like to listen to? At the moment I’m listening to The Hobbit soundtrack a lot. Otherwise, Bach and musicals feature highly. I also have the local radio station on when I drive, so I end up singing along with the chart songs sometimes. So quite a wide variety.
  7. If you could visit any country in the world where would it be? Mr S and I agree we want to go to China one day although we’re not sure when. The ancient culture interests me and the varied countryside, although I’m not sure how much of that we’d see.
  8. Describe your relationship with footwear. I have two words for you: Black boots. Black boots with heels, black boots without. Black riding boots, black wellington boots. If absolutely necessary I will go to a black sandal for evening-wear. I do also have a much-loved pair of Vibram Five-finger shoes with toes. They are grey and not boots. My only explanation for them is that they’re like having bare feet, but tougher.
  9. Do you have an opinion on My Little Pony: Friendship is magic? Not as such. I do like that My Little Ponies seem to have feathered legs like my little horsie does.
  10. Tacos or burritos? I have to admit I don’t know the difference. I think I’ve had a burrito, but don’t think I’ve had a taco. Sorry.
  11. If we were marooned together on a desert island with only coconuts, lizards, doc leaves, sand and bits of driftwood for entertainment, how would you use these things to create an entertainment spectacle that would delight me and keep me distracted until the rescue boat arrived? We could use the sand and driftwood to set up a dressage arena with dock leaves in place of the letters. With two halves of a coconut shell each we could clip-clop the sounds of the horse as we walked, trotted and cantered around the arena on our own two legs. We would mark each other not only on how we had performed the movements, but also on how well our coconut clopping reflected the rhythm of the gaits. The lizards would be the audience. If you run out of enthusiasm for this we’ll set up show jumps with more driftwood. If help still hasn’t come we’ll arrange a cross-country course and try three-day eventing. In the unlikely event that we’ve got this far, we’ll probably be tired enough that resting will be enough entertainment for a while.

Questions from Ikescenterlineadventures:

  1. Dogs or cats? We have cats, as described above. With both of us working full-time a sizeable commute away (and me out a lot for the horse as well) we couldn’t get a dog. Also it wouldn’t be fair to the cats.
  2. Favorite dessert? Pretty much anything without chocolate (it disagrees with me). The no chocolate issue does tend to reduce choice a great deal, but other than that all desserts are very welcome. I’m very fond of cake, but I see that as a snack food rather than a dessert.
  3. Have you ever ridden a motorbike? No. But sometimes when cantering round corners Drifter leans like one, so I feel like he’s trying to give me that experience.
  4. Spring, summer, fall or winter? I want to say autumn, just to highlight the regional vocabulary difference, but it wouldn’t be true. It has to be spring – getting the “green” back after the long dark dingy winter.
  5. Glass full or half empty? Empty. I can start worrying about running out of a thing before I’ve even started it. I do worry that this is going to turn me into a hoarder.
  6. Can I play an instrument. Yes. Oh you wanted details? Well… I’m best at baroque violin (i.e. seriously considered making it my career) but can also play modern violin to some standard if forced. I used to play the modern viola pretty well but repetitive strain injury made me set that aside. I do wonder whether I might be able to safely take it up again, but I have no time and no viola, so I don’t see it happening any time soon. I handle a recorder pretty well and can scrape away on a cello for my own entertainment if no one else’s. I played viola da gamba/consort viols at university and do sometimes miss that although I’ve never had my own instrument. I tried the fife for a bit but decided it’s not an indoor instrument and shouldn’t be played with anyone else in ear shot. I have passed some piano exams although I never considered myself able to play. I also used to sing to a fair standard although it’s a long long time since I had a lesson or sang properly. I think that’s everything…
  7. Facebook or Twitter? No thanks. I used to do Facebook, but when Twitter got big and people started putting their Twitter feed into Facebook it turned me off. I wanted updates on the big events in my friends’ lives, not the daily ones. The day I almost missed a friend’s child’s birth announcement because it was drowned in numerous tweets about someone’s bus journey was a turning point. It would be better to let everyone know I wasn’t on Facebook any more and just keep in touch directly for important matters. Sometimes I feel a bit excluded, when I see offers that depend on Liking something on Facebook or a link to information that’s not available anywhere else, but I don’t want to go back to Facebook.
  8. Why do you blog? [answered above]
  9. How do you keep up with the world? TV, internet, newspaper? None of the above really. The radio alarm news opens my day and I hear other snippets of news on the car radio, but the main way I keep informed is by interrogating my husband, who is a BBC news website addict. He “checks the world” there regularly and I ask him what’s going on.
  10. What do you like most about blogging? [answered above]
  11. Do you read blogs on subjects different than your primary blog? [answered above]

My 11 questions for those I nominate are:

  1. What is the last childish thing you did?
  2. Where have you walked (or run or ridden) today?
  3. What are you most proud of?
  4. How much sleep do you need?
  5. What do you wish you had more time for?
  6. What makes you laugh?
  7. Routine or spontaneity?
  8. What’s the weather like where you are at the time of writing?
  9. What’s the last thing you made?
  10. What’s the one question you wish I’d asked you?
  11. What’s the answer to the one question you wish I’d asked you?

At first I didn’t think I’d manage to come up with 11 small blogs to nominate, especially if I didn’t re-nominate the 3 that nominated me, but once I sat down and started listing them it wasn’t that hard. I’ve just realised that they’re almost all horsey.

  1. mellchan.wordpress.com/
  2. anaturallifeforjetandwalle.wordpress.com/
  3. braithanlithe.wordpress.com/
  4. machomojave.wordpress.com/
  5. adressagestory.wordpress.com/
  6. onthebit.wordpress.com/
  7. lifewithlumi.wordpress.com/
  8. sandiforester.wordpress.com/
  9. cobbeledroad.wordpress.com/
  10. therodneydiaries.wordpress.com/
  11. agifthorse.wordpress.com/

Sorry again that it’s taken me so long to get this post out and that it’s very long. I’m off to notify everyone on my list!

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. I love the surprise facts you discover in these posts, that sort of round out your picture of the blogger…I like knowing you are super-musical and have bubbles at work!
    Thank you for the nomination 🙂

  2. Dropping by to say thank you for the nomination! I enjoyed reading your answers!

  3. Thank you for the nomination!! I also enjoyed checking out all the other blogs you nominated. Great Idea!!

What do you think? Leave a Reply

