First world problems

It is not often that I think I should slap myself, grow up and get a grip, but today I think that is the only approach.

So far today I have huffed, sighed and groaned over the following:

  • The testimonial I was asked to write for a website has not been used
  • My manager had what looked like a very interesting conversation with a colleague that I felt I should have been involved in but was not
  • I didn’t know there was a dressage and/or show jumping competition in 12 days and now don’t have long to prepare
  • While riding a canter which I was so proud to have managed to slow down from our usual headlong rush, a spectator likened it to race-horse and jockey

I’m currently still furious about the last of this list. Basically he took all my satisfaction away. When I explained to him that actually I was working on slowing him down and felt we were making real progress, and that was really good for us, he dismissed it and told me now I had to show him a real slow canter. I wish I’d have shown him two fingers, to be honest, but I think he thought what he was doing was giving amusing teasing encouragement rather than taking the satisfaction I had with my ride and stamping on it. Instead of doing anything more I called it a day and went to cool down mode. (To be honest we’d already been riding longer than I usually would, so it wasn’t like I cut the ride short because of him.)

But in between my waves of seething anger I do see that it’s all

First world problems!

He is a just a silly man who’s never been on a horse and is actually a nice person, even if he pushed all the wrong buttons with me today.

Only a few months ago I was wondering whether I’d bought a horse I’d never manage to canter, and here I am not only cantering every day but managing to see progress in training him to do it in a way he finds even harder (i.e. on the correct leg, and not rushing at top speed).

Oh yes, and I have a lovely horse, kept at great expense for leisure purposes. How first world can you get? 😉

I’m not sure why but for the past few weeks this sort of thing has been getting a bit out of proportion. I just need to put it back in its place and get over myself.

Hopefully I’ll be back to a more resilient version of myself by the weekend, because it’s time for another Lee Pearson lesson! I’m looking forward to showing him our canter work, and in fact all of our gaits. I think I’ve got Drifter working much better since we last saw him, I think we’re less on the forehand and more “gymnastic” but honestly I don’t really know what it looks like to the informed watcher! I guess I’ll find out soon!

7 thoughts on “First world problems

  1. theInelegantHorseRider says:

    Ooh another Lee Pearson lesson, looking forward to hearing all about it. Yeah I sometimes think exactly the same thing about myself with the whole needing to get a grip. Tell you what I will attempt to do the same thing as yourself and pop my daftness back in its place. 🙂 Great news about the cantering everyday and the progress you guys are making.

  2. The Dancing Rider says:

    Glad you are dealing with this stuff. Lesson should be great! I think we all need to get a grip. (I crashed this week also, but quickly managed a route out of it. Grrrrr. And with surgery coming up for DH, I’ll be missing riding for about a month. I’ll be missing the only dressage schooling show of the season….not that I’m in any skill shape to ride in one these days.) Don’t you love it when someone manages to push those buttons, and completely take the wind out of one’s sails?!?! As much as people say it’s not what is said, but how one reacts to what is said — sorry, it IS what is said sometimes. As you say, what did this person know? What you did was good, and I’m happy to read you are cantering a lot these days. You’ve come quite a long way, since I’ve been reading your blog. Yay. Maybe you will make the show anyway?

    • Sparrowgrass says:

      sorry to hear you’ll be missing your show. Having spent a while today learning the dressage tests I think I’ll be doing ours, but dressage only; if I had an extra week I’d have booked a jump lesson and tried the up-to-18-inch-only show jumping, but having not jumped for a month or two I don’t fancy trying it in competition! On the plus side there will be another chance next month and I should be better prepared by then.

  3. Liz at Libro says:

    I think that if you’ve realised you’re getting bothered too much by these things you’ll be able to dial it down. The horse criticism person sounds annoying, though. And another LP lesson – hooray! I look forward to reading that! Sorry I haven’t commented much on here recently – I read all of your posts with great interest, I’ve just been a little preoccupied recently!

What do you think? Leave a Reply

