Stuff I managed to do

I’m still sick, and I don’t have the energy for proper posts. So here are eleven pictures. Or “ill.” because I am both ill and illustrating.

Ill. 1 & 2. (Actually not something I managed to do – something I managed to pay someone to do 😉 )D got clipped. Although he’s not in regular structured exercise at the moment he was getting too sweaty to dry on the occasions I had someone ride him, and on the last warm days he was sweating even stood in his stable. So I had him clipped. I turned up during the process to say hello, and snapped these, but was too tired to stay and take a picture of the finished article. He actually managed to jump the clipping queue massively because a) he’s amazingly well behaved during clipping and b) I don’t mind less experienced members of staff having a go at clipping him. Everyone has to practice to get good and it’s not like we’re going out anywhere anytime soon, so if it’s not a perfect job that’s not a problem.

wpid-20141013_115525.jpgwpid-20141013_115502.jpg

 

Ill. 3-7: Things discovered on walks.

Ordinarily if I go for a walk I intend to be out for a little while and take a camera, perhaps finding some birds to photograph. At present if I go for a walk it lasts only a few minutes and I get exhausted super so I had to look harder to find things worth photographing only a minute or so outside the house.

015028041047

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ill. 8-11: Stuff I crocheted. The teal shawl  (pictured stretched out and also folded) was started well before I got ill. Ironically I made it for the autumn mornings in the office … which I have totally missed this year. Doh! The wrist-warmers similarly were intended for morning use in the office but are more versatile. The keyring was for Mr S, although it came out bigger than I’d hoped and not as cute. Other crochet projects have been on the go also. Some have been abandoned as a bad job, others are in progress and yet others are destined for Christmas presents, so I can’t post them here in case their recipients see them ahead of time. If I had the energy I’d post the patterns they were based on … but as it is, if you’re curious about a pattern please ask in a comment and I’ll find it for you. (But do bear in mind I never actually follow a pattern without amending something about it. Sometimes that’s a good thing, sometimes not!)

069077066078

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Stuff I managed to do

  1. The Lite Rider says:

    LOVELY crochet, beautiful flowers, greenery, and textures. Great job on the clipping. So envious of all of you who have your own horses. (My lease horse had an impaction colic two weeks ago, so glad he is ok now. I wasn’t there on that day to ride. Felt so helpless when my trainer told me.)

  2. So sorry to hear you’re so unwell, I do hope you’ll feel able to ride again soon.

  3. Jealous of your crochet skills!!! I have been trying to learn and am not so successful :(.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    • Sparrowgrass says:

      It’s been a bit of a learning curve and I have a lot of time on my hands at the moment! I’m sure if you can get through the annoying beginning stages of learning and get some familiarity with it you’ll end up with skills to be proud of.

  4. Julie x says:

    I love the out and about photos. I’ve got some I can show you when you get back. Take it easy and don’t come back until you’re really better!x

  5. theInelegantHorseRider says:

    The crocheting is fab, I love the shawl. I have no skill in the whole craft department so I am in awe of anyone who can make something so cool. I hope you feel better soon, take care of yourself.

  6. LOVE the wristwarmers.
    Hope you feel better soon

  7. I love your photos, so pretty!!
    Those wrist-warmers look gorgeous! We’ve been making some, using different patterns, but always looking for new ones – well, when I say we, I mean my wife, I can’t read a pattern so I freestyle a lot…
    I hope you are feeling better. x

What do you think? Leave a Reply

