One tiny step for everyone else, one giant leap for me

I’m going back to work tomorrow. Having not done that for a few months it now feels like a massive deal. But as of this morning’s doctor’s appointment I have a piece of paper saying I’m fit to work if I avoid overexertion and heavy lifting for a bit. I’m hoping to start back mornings only but it’s not really been formalised yet.

I still don’t have a diagnosis but the important part is not feeling like crap all the time!

So it looks like a return to being a useful member of society is on the cards. And hopefully a return to regularly exercising a little woolly horse beastie. And lessons and dressage and all that jazz. (Actually I don’t think Drifter likes jazz, being mistrustful of syncopation, so perhaps we’ll skip the jazz for now.)

And yes, I do know that my horse doesn’t like syncopation. Fact. Some of the things owners know about their horses are seriously weird. But it kind of makes sense that horses like regular rhythms such as those sounds produced by relaxed horse movements and are less comfortable with irregularities and unexpected rhythms that sound more like lameness or stressed movements.

Also in weird horse news I finally found a face brush that he doesn’t dislike. Having tried a variety of different horse face brushes, and every other brush in my grooming kit, I finally started thinking out of the box and bought a very cheap, very nasty, very scratchy plastic human nail brush and he loves it. For the first time since I’ve had him I can actually brush clean the long hair on his woolly forehead without him resisting. Horses!

6 thoughts on “One tiny step for everyone else, one giant leap for me

  1. Julie x says:

    It will be nice to have you back.x

  2. Liz Dexter says:

    Glad you’re getting better and it won’t be long until the Christmas break. Good luck and try not to fret about it.

  3. theInelegantHorseRider says:

    Great news! Glad you are getting better.

  4. The Lite Rider says:

    So nice to hear you are feeling better! And that you found a face brush Drifter will tolerate!

  5. Too funny that he prefers the nail brush!

What do you think? Leave a Reply

