Crochet shawl, or, What I made on my holiday

As I mentioned in the last post, there have been things I’ve been meaning to blog about for absolutely months and am only just getting round to updating you on. Here’s another very delayed post, and it doesn’t even have many words in it! wpid-20150530_162655.jpg

This was the crochet project I took with me to Morocco. I wanted something lightweight to work on in the sunshine, although for the first days I was there I was wishing I was making myself something warm and thick! If you’re wondering why I photographed it in a tree, you obviously don’t spend much time looking at pictures of handmade shawls on the internet (and that I must say is all to your credit – I spend far too much time doing that sort of thing!). I have to say that it did photograph much better outside in natural light, and the tiny baby pears on the tree were just the thing for popping through the lace holes like little buttons to hold it up! You can’t really tell in the picture, but this yarn is threaded through with a metallic filament that shows up beautifully in artificial light.

If you’re on Ravelry, my project page is here. (If you’re not on Ravelry but want the pattern or yarn info, you can join Ravelry for free to access all that stuff and loads more!)

wpid-20150530_162742.jpg

When I previously posted a Ravelry link I didn’t realise it wasn’t visible to everyone, so here’s that picture of my beaver I promised!

wpid-20150513_211023.jpg

4 thoughts on “Crochet shawl, or, What I made on my holiday

  1. Whoa, your shawl is impressive! It puts the dishcloth I am currently working on to shame, for sure.

  2. HippoLogic says:

    Prachtig. Heb je die bever ook gehaakt? Die sjaal ziet er heel ingewikkeld uit maar is ook zo mooi!

    • Sparrowgrass says:

      Hallo. Sorry that’s the only Dutch I know 🙂 But I had a go at translating with the help of the internet, and thank you for your kind words. I’m quite excited to get a comment in another language!

What do you think? Leave a Reply

